Users Can Now Schedule The Deletion of Google’s Browsing History Automatically

 

Google today announced that users can now schedule the deletion of Google’s browsing history automatically on a monthly schedule of 3 or 18 months. This option allows users to “set it and forget it” to avoid having to manually log in to Google Settings and clear the history.

How does it work?

 

  • Login to your Google account and go to the activity controls panel.
  • Then, click on the “choose to delete automatically” button and
  • Schedule if you’d like to delete your history automatically on a 3- or 18-month cycle.

 

Below is a GIF of it in action:

 

Deletion of Google's Browsing History Automatically
Image Source: Google

 

Why Don’t You See This Option?

 

The setting is still rolling out and will only be available for location history and web and app activity for now. Google said the controls “are coming first to Location History and Web & App Activity and will roll out in the coming weeks.”

The setting is still rolling out and is currently available only for location history, web activity, and the application. Google said the controls will be“are coming first to Location History and Web & App Activity and will roll out in the coming weeks.”

 

Why Should You Care?

 

As marketers, This may affect the targeting of our ads in Google Ads. The implications for targeting are unclear, but we hope to explore the new control in more detail in the future. This should barely affect the ranking of organic searches, as Google has informed us that the adjustment in terms of impact on top rankings is very limited.

As searchers – especially those who are interested in privacy: the ability to automate the deletion of history is a significant advantage. Users can now schedule the deletion of history without having to access the history area every few months to manually delete the history. Of course, users can still manually clear history if they prefer.